Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.® Chattanooga Alumnae Chapter
Joy in our Sisterhood, Power in our Voice and Service in our Heart


On December 9, 1933, twenty years after the founding of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. on the campus of Howard University, eight college graduates applied for a charter to begin a chapter of Delta Sigma Theta in Chattanooga, Tennessee. These women were Eva (Baker) Mabrey, Gussie (Griffin) Hyatte, Lydia Henderson, Minerva Johnson, Onnie Nickels, Rose (Upshaw) Harris, Lexine Weeks, and Martha (White) Carney.

Eight years later, after a long and somewhat difficult process, the dream was realized. Beta Epsilon Sigma Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on May 24, 1941.

O’Teele Alfred*
Martha White Carney*
Evelyn Robinson Hardin*
Rose Upshaw Harris*
Lydia Henderson*
Frances Hudson*
Gussie Griffin Hyatte*
Emma Jefferson*
Eva Baker Mabrey*
Ruth Roberts Micheaux*
Emarita Pitts Murphy*
Lutrecy O’Neal Murphy*
Marian Robinson*
Lexine Howse Weeks*

Soror Emma Jefferson served as the Chapter's first President.

Fifteen years following the Chapter's charter, the Beta Epsilon Sigma Chapter became known as the Chattanooga Alumnae Chapter.